Ashbourne Hilltop
Primary and Nursery School

with ERS Provision

Home Page

Our Governors

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do.  


Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SDP sets out a three year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.


Our legal duties include:-

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the Headteacher


The full Governing Body meets regularly. We also have two sub-committees - Resources and Standards look at particular issues (such as pay, performance management, buildings development). A small group (Headteacher, Governor responsible for Finance and the School Business Officer) meet to discuss the finance report from the LA.  All governors are informed about what happens at these finance meetings and regular written reports are received from the finance officer for the school at the LA.


There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Co-opted Governors, the Local Authority (“LA”), Parents and Staff. All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.


We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at our school.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.  If you should have any queries please contact Mrs Nicky Illsley, Clerk to Governors, at the school in the first instance.