Ashbourne Hilltop
Primary and Nursery School

with ERS Provision

Home Page


The Computing Curriculum develops both skills and knowledge.  The core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work and how to put this knowledge to use through programming. Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils are equipped to use information technology to create programs, systems and a range of content. Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.  Derbyshire County Council have adopted ‘The Wokingham Computing Curriculum.’  The curriculum puts a clear emphasis on three areas of learning:


  • Computer Science – how computers work and how to write algorithms and solve problems to eventually create a computer program.
  • Information Technology – how data is represented and managed on computers.
  • Digital Literacy – how to understand digital information and interact with it safely and appropriately.


The aim of the curriculum is to build an understanding of how computers work and how they can be used in pupils’ lives – both in their future employment and in enabling them to be good 21st Century global citizens.


Key Stages 1 and 2 Computing National Curriculum


The Wokingham Computing Curriculum